Remember Our Fallen Heroes

Most of us mark Memorial day as the start of summer, firing up the BBQ grill, and going to various recreational activities.  For others, it’s another three day weekend. For students in traditional schools, it marks the immediate conclusion of another year of school.
Yet, I ask us to pause this day to remember the hundreds of thousands of fallen heroes who have died in defense of our country and the country’s national interests.

I read an article in today’s paper about a badly burned young United States Marine, Merlin German, who died in April after being horrendously burned from a bomb along a dusty road in Iraq in 2005. Marine Sgt. Merlin German was burned over 97% of his body and endured over 100 surgeries and surgical procedures.  His story brought tears to my eyes and reminded me of a quote by President Reagan over 20 years ago, “…Most of those who died in defense of our country…were boys when they died, and they gave up two lives, the one they were living and the one they would have lived. They gave up their chance to be husbands and fathers and grandfathers.  They gave up everything for their country, for us. All we can do is remember.”

Whether you are Democrat, Republican, Libertarian, or Independent; whether you are in favor of the current war in Iraq or bitterly against it; whether you identify more with the pacifists or hawks, take a moment this weekend to pause to remember, give thanks, and lift up your thoughts and prayers to the men and women throughout our nation’s history who have died to allow us to speak our view strongly, without fear of retribution or death, to spend time with our families, to enjoy the onset of summer, and to have the freedom to engage in recreation and family fun.

And while you are at it, take the time to thank a veteran or currently serving military professional.  They deserve our thanks and gratitude.

Chris

2 Responses to Remember Our Fallen Heroes

  1. stushie says:

    Memorial Day Sonnet

    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember what my freedom cost,
    By those who gave their all to keep me free,
    Whose lives were sacrificed, but never lost.
    I will remind myself of what they did,
    And keep them dearly cherished in my heart;
    Their honor never from me shall be hid
    And I will know they always did their part
    To save our nation and its people here,
    To pledge their lives in defense of our ways,
    To show that freedom always outlives fear,
    And sacrifice is hallowed all our days.
    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember those who kept me free.

    © John Stuart 2008
    Pastor at Erin Presbyterian Church,
    Knoxville, Tennessee

    [audio src="http://media.libsyn.com/media/stushie/Memorial_Day.mp3" /]

  2. Roger D. Surbaugh says:

    There is only one true hero, and that is the boy (or girl) who never came home. Jesus said that “the greatest love is to be willing to lay down your life for others”. From Gettysburg to Lexington, from Saigon to Sadr city, there have always been these unsung heroes. I am humbled by their sacrifice, and sustained by their gallantry and honor. May we never forget their “last full measure of devotion”.

Leave a comment